Today I installed SQL Server 2008 R2 Standard on a Windows Server 2012 R2 cluster.  Not my preferred choice of SQL Server product but needs must.

With the hardware built, the Windows cluster built and the whole set up ready and waiting for a purpose, I went ahead and installed SQL Server.

My excitement was short lived as I had failed to read a very useful article from Microsoft (possibly the only one I hadn’t read), outlining in perfect detail, the issues with versions of SQL Server that don’t play so well with Windows Server 2012 R2.  For your convenience, that article is here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2681562

It turns out that SQL Server 2008 R2 won’t play nice with Windows Server 2012 R2 unless it is patched up to SP2 or above.  This lead me to another article I hadn’t read on how to slipstream a service pack into the installer.  Something I’d never done before but had heard Hardware support guys bash on about when sliding SP3 for XP in.  Again for your convenience, see that article here:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/petersad/archive/2011/07/13/how-to-slipstream-sql-server-2008-r2-and-a-sql-server-2008-r2-service-pack-1-sp1.aspx

Despite what the article claims, if you’re very sure which architecture you’re going to use, you will only need to slipstream the relevant one.  I patched up to SP3 and was then allowed to continue onwards with my install.

G.

